The Ripple Study Screening Form is a tool that can be used to screen potential participants based on study requirements. This takes the manual work out of identifying whether a participant meets the designed study requirements. After a participant is screened, their status is updated automatically based on whether they pass or fail the screening criteria. The study administrator can determine in advance what status participants who pass or fail the screening criteria should be moved to. For example, if a participant passes the screening criteria, he or she is automatically moved to the status set in the “Screen Pass Status” setting (see screenshot below). If a participant fails the screening, he or she is automatically moved to the status set in the “Screen Fail Status” setting. Ripple will also save the participant information to the registry in case the participant meets the requirements for other or future studies.
The screening tool is very flexible allowing any number of questions, pages, instructions, etc. The inclusion criteria can be set on any number of variables, and the status which participants should move to based on pass/fail criteria can be defined.
You can screen participants in one of two ways:
Option 1 - Screen a participant that is already in Ripple by clicking “Screen This Participant” within the participant profile.
Once you click on “Screen This Participant,” Ripple will prompt which screening form you’d like to use to screen them:
Upon selecting the form, any data already in the profile card will auto-populate the form. If data is missing or is incorrect it can be added or modified in the form. Any changes to data will update the profile card.
Upon pressing “Submit,” the participant is screened and Ripple will either show a pass or fail screen with options to “Cancel and return to form," “Cancel and close form," or “Save participant data to Ripple.” These options are the same with a pass or fail. The participant will then be moved into the status that the form dictates. For example, failed participants can be moved to an “Ineligible” status and passed participants can move into the “To be contacted” status.
If the participant fails the criteria, a new message will be displayed asking whether you want to save the participant data.